Walking in Memphis #2: Burger Time

I got BYB & you can't have none!

It happened quite by accident.

I was writing a list of potential blog topics for my Memphis Connect posts when I realized I’d never had a burger from Backyard Burgers. I’ve long been a chicken sandwich sort of lady ever since Rally’s started serving up one of the tastiest fast food versions in the late ’80s, and upon discovering BYB’s honey mustard incarnation in high school, I’ve never looked back.

When I moved back home from Maryland in September, my mom and I stopped at the first BYB we saw as soon as we crossed into Tennessee. I was saddened to find out chain’s waffle fries and honey mustard chicken sandwich were axed from the menu during my tenure in the D/M/V. Alright, so the honey mustard chicken sandwich had been obliterated years ago, but you could always special order it. And seriously, what is Backyard Burgers without waffle fries?

In an effort to give them another shot and to fulfill my charbroiled chicken jones, I decided to stop at a nearby BYB to order my first Hawaiian chicken sandwich, sans pineapple, since something like 1996. I planned save that first burger for a day when I could sit down inside the restaurant and take lovely pictures and marvel over free refills, if those still exist. Instead, my order got mixed up, and  a double hamburger with lettuce, mayo, red onion, mustard, pickles and ketchup was delivered unto me sooner than I intended.

Yeah, I had to take off one of the thick beef patties in order to even eat the thing and yes it was cheeseless, but it was actually pretty good. I didn’t really savor it the way I would’ve liked since I hadn’t eaten all day, but I’d be willing to give it another shot with an order of seasoned fries. I never thought I’d see the day when I’d order seasoned fries from BYB, but suppose I’ve got to meet them where they are now. And while it’s got nothing on a Huey’s burger with bacon or a Happy Daz #5 (what’s up, Lima, Ohio?!), it’ll do in a pinch.

Leave a comment

Filed under Walking in Memphis

Leave a Reply

