Walking in Memphis Vol. 1: Lit Jr.

On a whim, I agreed to go to a local restaurant/catering/baking supply warehouse with Jackleen and my Aunt Tricia so they could pick up supplies for an upcoming catering gig and for the holidays. {A bit of background before I go further: my brother Tyrone and I don’t call our parents “mom” and “dad”; “dad” has never been an option because our father insisted on being called “Pop”–getting into that story is going to take too long. Instead, we call our mother Jackleen (spelled phonetically, it’s the way Grace Jones says it in Boomerang–Tyrone’s idea) and our father Old Dude (my idea ’cause, well, he’s old and he spent some time growing up in Oakland, so I feel the Cali nod is appropriate). Now back to the story already in progress.} Located on Summer Avenue, Lit Jr. is the satellite location of a larger warehouse on Union Avenue. This big red box had to be one of the most  fantastical, random places I’ve ever been in my life. I felt like Mitchell from Modern Family on discovering the joys of Costco (it’s really worth watching the entire episode; the show is that good).

It must’ve been kismet that I brought my camera with me, and I’m so glad I did. I realize this post is so far and away from the purpose of this blog, but I had to share. Below are some of the snaps I took while exploring the aisles at my new favorite foodie supply joint.

Faded glory: the façade of Lit Junior taken from the parking lot.

Faded glory: the façade of Lit Junior taken from the parking lot.

While I appreciate it there being zero trans fat, where's the girl version?

While I appreciate you looking out for my health with the zero trans fat thing, where's the girls' version?

Random fact: I loved cafeteria trays as a child. Now I know where to get my own. These might be nice for crawfish boils, too.

Random fact: I loved cafeteria trays as a child. Now I know where to get my own. These might be nice for crawfish boils, too.

Is Uncle Ray doing "Beyond Good!" or what?!

Is Uncle Ray doing "Beyond Good!" or what?!

So this is where Craig Brewer got the insulation for his Hustle & Flow recording studio!

So this is where Craig Brewer got the insulation for his Hustle & Flow recording studio! I honestly thought he went to McDonald's and begged them for every cup holder they had.

Yep, you read my mind right: Jell-O shots!

Yep, you read my mind right: Jell-O shots!

Now I know where to go when I need ambient lighting for my pizza parlor.

Now I know where to go when I need ambient lighting for my pizza parlor. OK, that was snarky, but I will probably buy a couple to put on my patio table in the summer.

Whoomp! There it is!

Whoomp! There it is!

The most frustrating, cute, pointless gum ever made.

The most frustrating, cute, pointless gum ever made.

And that’s all folks. I got too caught up in filling Jackleen’s basket and coming up with ideas for the wares in the store to take anymore pictures. I’m seriously thinking about investing in a set of melamine diner dishes for everyday use. Hey, they’re simple, sanitary and virtually indestructible.

It’s too bad I missed out on the opportunity to get a shot of Tricia in her berét and cape, though. The Cecil DeMille-ness of her attire would’ve added to the randomness of the day.

1 Comment

Filed under Walking in Memphis

One response to “Walking in Memphis Vol. 1: Lit Jr.

  1. SouthernPolitico

    Thanks for sharing! Next time I’m in Memphis, I will have to make sure I pay a visit to this place. Although that may be dangerous for a borderline hoarder (I’m working on it). But you never know when you’ll need any of those things! 😉

Leave a Reply

